Song of the Day – 14/01/2016

Though I am relatively late to the Hop Along party, I have fallen for them completely. Frances Quinlan has a voice like no other, and it hits me right at home every time I hear it.

“Young and Happy!” is the kind of bittersweet that I’ve long been fond of. Rilo Kiley did it well, as does Chan Marshall and Cat Power. “Young and Happy!” is a song of desire and regret, growing older and losing innocence, and the need for those moments of detached, existential freedom. Distant echoes of Japandroid’s “Young Hearts Spark Fire,” with the instruments raging at the realization that life never stops, and it never goes backwards.

“At least with you
I got to be young and happy
With you I got to be young and happy
Now to think of all the strangers I’ve followed
My hands empty”

Turn it up loud.

Leave a Reply

